top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrooke Alyssa Rivera

3D Printed Phone Case

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

3/10

I spent the day figuring out dimensions for my phone case. The first thing I did was google search the dimensions of an iPhone 6s. When I thought more about this I realized I would need more details on the dimensions than just the width, height, and depth. So, I decided to look up Apples spread sheets of their legitimate dimensions. I found this


From there I looked up a video of how to create a phone using Fusion 360. I watched the video a few times then decided to write down all the steps because I do not have Fusion 360 on my laptop, so that when I go back to school I could easily make the case following my steps.


3/21

Today, I completed my first trail of printing my case.







Overall, it came out really well. The design I was very happy with and the shape was perfect. However, the case did have some defects. The case is about 2 mm too big and the walls height around the phone are about 1 mm too high. Also, the right buttons on the case need to be moved down about 3 mm. Other than that the case was pretty successful, but I want it to fit my phone.






3/26

Today I attempted to fix the decisions of my scale by fixing the scale in Cura and by moving some sketches down in Fusion 360. My goal today was to print a case to fit my phone. However, I ran into a few bumps in the road. The printer I chose to print on would not work the entire class. As a result, my phone did print, but it printed very thin and flimsy. This was a fail.







3/28


The last day to finish my project went pretty rough at first. When I got to class the printer I chose again was having some issues with the filament not coming down and dragging on the bed. As a result, I printed in a different location. This printer did decide to work. My case did come out successful. The dimensions were finally right and my case does did my phone. I chose to do my final print in a light transient prink because my phone is pink. I am very happy with my results from this project even though it was very frustrating using the printers and figuring out the dimensions.


Final Results :






 


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page